Trust me

Yes people, I’m alive…

Getting on to a challenge which I got on 13th April and am yet to write on, here’s my comeback with the post “Trust me, I know I won’t let you down” given to me by Leo on my page ‘Challenge Accepted‘ .

This is a sentence we all hear a lot from almost everyone around us. For things small to big. It may be making tea or doing well in exams (my examples), we say this often and mostly to people who either entrust themselves/their work on us or to people for whom how we do our own work matters.

But I have a question for everyone here. How often do we mean it and how often do we say it to just assure the other person. The test to this is to know whether we ourselves think we will not let the other person down. But  if there is the slightest of doubt in our mind that we might be unable to meet the expectations of the other person, then is it not better to tell them the truth rather than give them hope when we ourselves lack it.

What I am saying may seem very ideological and ideological stuff doesn’t work according to all of us. Think of it this way, whenever someone says that they won’t let you down, and of they then do, our first thought is “Kaash pehle bata deta, itni umeedein to nahi lagate” (I wish we had been told earlier, atleast we would not have been so hopeful). Why is it then, that what we wish for ourselves, becomes so hard to give to others? It is only fair, isn’t it?

I’d like to narrate a story here, that should tell us why these words are so hollow at most times and when they are meant, why the person saying them himself seems to not care later on.

Once upon a time, there was a man who was very trustworthy. This was not because he always accomplished what he set out to do (that is not possible for anyone), but because when he was in doubt if he would be able to do it or not, he would say this to the people. This was until he was 12 years old. At this point, his parents started to teach him that saying ‘I might not be able to do what you ask’ is very rude. One must say that  I will do it, and if then after giving your 100% it does not happen, then everyone understands that fate too plays a role. Ironically, these people were of the category who often felt bad when others who had said the same thing, could not live up to it.

So gradually the man learnt to lie. Now he would tell everyone that he could do whatever was asked of him. Things started to go downwards when he could not meet his promises. It is funny how everyone trusted him when he never said ‘Trust me’ but the opposite began to happen (as it does with all of us) when he started saying ‘Trust me’ in everything.

As the man realized that he could always say that he gave his 100% but fate interfered, the inevitable happened. He stopped giving his 100%. When he was younger and said that he might be able to do things, he gave his 100% because it meant that he really could do it. Now he had an escape route. He could easily give his 75% and then say fate was not on his side. Who was there to measure how hard he tried?

This 75% kept falling till there was a stage of carelessness. ‘If I want to do it I will, else I’ll just pretend I did it and will say it was not in my hands’.

Isn’t that what we all do at times. Do we actually give our 100% to everything we commit ourselves for by asking for the trust? Think about it. It’s needed to be thought about.

17 thoughts on “Trust me

  1. Welcome Back Ms. Lawyer (Do I want to say liar)

    Good post and offcourse, by now we know your capability of handling challenges.
    My take on it – “Trust me” comes only from the mouth of “not worth trusting” people….think about it when was the last time someone did tell you, “Trust me”

    Keep writing now…we want to see more of u..

    • Thanks for the welcome.
      I wouldn’t go as categorical as you on that because I myself have used that word genuinely at times…
      but a point well made!
      I hope that I see more of myself here too. 🙂

  2. Beautifully said . . .
    Giving less than all of oneself is about fear. Because, if we do, if we give a full one hundred percent to our dreams, and for whatever reason they still come back to us unrealized, then we believe we will have failed. And that’s where we would be wrong. The failing is in the fear.

    ~ Cara

  3. we do not put our 100% s true but fate does plays a part in the activities that we do.. i have seen loads incidents… ppl told us “give ur 100% still u dont get the fruit don worry” .. th epoint here is if we give our 100% the fate will be in our favour..:)

    • You are right at that point. I was also mentioning the situation where people use fate as an excuse to not give 100% or have the thinking that if it is eventually on fate, why bother to work..

  4. You are right JJ… we don’t always give 100% to each and everything.. That Mr. Trustworthy is there in all of us.. but we do give it for some things.. and we feel really happy when we keep the trust of the person we promised it to. But I think, at times, in our childhood.. we are promised some thing if we do give it our 100% and then, to keep on making us do that 100%, the promised item is delayed till whatever the person wants of us is achieved to an extent. Maybe that’s one thing that makes us lie.. that possibility of a return thing being delayed, and a promise given to us being broken.

    Welcome back yaar. You were sorely missed.

    • Very well said, that it is the promised thing that makes us lie. And it does not have to be a ‘thing’ per say. We also often say this sentence to make someone happy ‘atleast for now’.
      But what I say here is not about giving our 100% to everything, that is not possible. It is about doing so when we promise or not making the promise. It is about being honest first to ourselves and then to the other person.
      Also this giving less and less attention to what we do and becoming careless is not ever conscious, it happens in us unconsciously and so we need to be more aware of our thoughts on things that we promise.

      • Yes I agree.. we should be honest to ourselves.. but also keep the circumstances in mind. If each promise is kept when it is easily possible to be kept, rather than postponing, it’d be good on our heads too.. The world changes with each minute, so to keep that promise later might not always be possible if it is a materialistic promise 🙂

Your thoughts are as precious as mine... do share some

