Two experiments together

This time, I’m trying out something I’ve never done before. I’m writing the two parts of this post for two memes of Leo’s blog – I Rhyme Without Reason.

The first is an Acrostic story for It’s Thursday.

while the second is a Haiku for Haiku Heights

Please do not be kind on me and let me know exactly where I falter and where I can improve myself.

Note – Both are absolutely and undoubtedly fiction. 🙂

It’s Thursday:

“Power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely”. That’s my tale. Until school, life was simple. Then, when I came to college, I came to understand for the first time what politics really meant and what it meant to have power.

Everyone around me suddenly seemed to be conscious of the title and place they held in college. It was only human for me to follow this thought. And so began my journey towards the core of college politics.

Whoever I met, I made sure was happy with me. I made certain that when I reached my final year and stood for elections, people would have no reason not to vote for me. The ones who fell short of cash, got it from my pocket money; this solved most of their demands. The few guys too ugly/disgusting/irritating/undeserving/frustrated to get laid, also got what they wanted. Yes, I had fallen to my lowest, and risen to the highest in politics.

Engrossed in the politics, I even sacrificed my actual aim, that of studying well. I made it to ‘the top’ though. I was made head of the student association in my final year. Looking back, this is where I should have ended this madness, but it was flowing in my blood by now.

Remorse is all I feel today when I look back to my doings in college. I was to my college, what Hitler was to Germany. My friends (more of money or power or both than real emotions) were free to do as they pleased, while my enemies died by the day (some even literally). Today, as I sit in a prison cell for a seven year term that started a month back, I dwell on what I could have been, instead of what I am. Absolute power corrupted me absolutely.

Haiku:

the ghosts of my past
have returned, determined to
haunt me forever

To think of it, not that I planned it like this, the haiku can be an aftermath of the story. Leo, is that your thought behind the two topics, or am I just thinking too much?

Take care everyone.

P.S. I’ll be my own critic – Both these developments on the given word concept are very cliche’. 🙂

17 thoughts on “Two experiments together

  1. Pingback: Until I return « Thoughtful Thoughts

  2. The haiku can be a sequel to your story.. It was a good narration of how power can bring about one’s downfall too.. Well written! 🙂

    P.S: Are you sure it’s fiction and you’re not in prison? 😛 (:|

  3. Firstly, the haiku is so true for me a lot! I wonder why it is though.. that we cant keep past away.. Maybe coz memories are so powerful! Liked it.. and its most certainly and completely your thought in the haiku 🙂

    Now off to read the story 😛 …

Your thoughts are as precious as mine... do share some

