Fan-less

Yesterday evening, my room fan started to rattle. By 10P.M. it was oscillating. In another ten minutes, it had become so loose that it had stopped working.

Thus started the torture of a fan-less night in my room.  I came to know online that the temperature was as much as 29 degrees last night. It was a nightmare.

Picture clicked out of sheer boredom and frustration.

Both my roommate and I were doing something or the other until sleep literally took over us. And so, when I woke up in the morning, I found myself covered in sweat (This, when I slept in the skimpiest clothes possible).

Having a word with the IP/HP (Institute Hostel Prefect), I came to know that she had suffered the same fate last week.

So, in the style of people who contribute (read are forced to contribute) to breaking news – “College को इसके  बारे  मैं  कुछ  करना  चाहिए. ये  घोर  अन्याय  है  बच्चों  के  साथ. पंखा  गिरना कितना dangerous है  authorities को  समझना  चाहिए. वो  हमारे  emotions और  right to sound sleep को  ऐसा  neglect  नहीं  कर  सकते . ये  उनकी  जवाबदारी  होनी चाहिए.” ( The college should do something abou t this. This is highly unfair. The fan falling is very dangerous, this the authorities should understand. They cannot neglect our emotions and right to sound sleep like this. They are answerable for this.)

Come to think of it, quite a lot of what I just said is reasonable.

Take care all.

P.S. As you must have realized by now, this post is not anything even close to thoughtful thoughts but it’s just about a thought. Hope it wasn’t too disappointing.

22 thoughts on “Fan-less

  1. 🙂
    I don’t know what to say….except that I’m feeling nostalgic now…
    Hostel memories are back…those sufferings are now like sweet melodies….U’ll also cherish this whole senselessness one day….

    • It feels to get someone nostalgic with a post. A post well done. 🙂
      And ya, i can see that these memories are going to stay for a long long time. 🙂
      Thanks for dropping by.

  2. Oh bad luck..
    But all this is hostel life…..
    These are the small things which you will remember for years
    and all these incidents will recollect in your mind when you will hear the word hostel……:)

  3. I know you pain… my room didn’t have a fan… I eventually bought a table fan which is less than 6 inches in diameter… needless to say, things are not comfortable.. but I’ve managed somehow for a year
    Rishi

    • If the warden were to be consulted, It would do ‘us kids’ some good to learn to adapt to difficult situations. Her words, not mine.
      Had a word with the electrician and got it fixed. 🙂
      Thanks for dropping by,

Your thoughts are as precious as mine... do share some

